Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award

About the Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award To recognize an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship. This contribution may include an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; authorship of a significant book or articles in the reference field; creative and inspirational teaching; active participation in professional associations devoted to reference services; or leadership in other noteworthy professional activities.

Administered by:

Reference and User Services Association logo

2013 Winner(s)

Neal Wyatt

Doctoral candidate in the media, art and text program at Virginia Commonwealth University

Wyatt launched the Readers' Advisory Research and Trends Forum in 2009 — a recurring conference program that brings together theorists and practitioners from disparate fields to explore the expansion of RA boundaries. Her writing includes the "Library Journal" series "Reinventing RA," her influential book "The Readers' Advisory Guide to Nonfiction," (ALA, 2007) and her monthly "Library Journal" column "Crossroads." As a teacher and presenter, she demonstrates and passionately shares creative uses of technology for librarians across the RA spectrum. Her efforts have rekindled the passionate fire of RA service, elevating it to a prominent role in the public library setting, as well as other library environments. Wyatt has served as chair of the Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) and President of RUSA where, as a tireless and effective leader, she left a significant legacy of creativity and inclusivity.