Equality Award

About the Equality Award
An annual award consisting of $1000 and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement given to an individual or group for outstanding contribution toward promoting equality in the library profession. The contribution may be either a sustained one or a single outstanding accomplishment. The award may be given for an activist or scholarly contribution in such areas as pay equity, affirmative action, legislative work and non-sexist education.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2017 Winner(s)

Haipeng Li

university librarian at University of California, Merced

Throughout his career, Li has championed equality within the profession, to library users and on a global level as well.  In particular, it was impressed with his leadership in the area of equality, highlighted by his work as co-chair of the second National Joint Conference of Librarians of Color (JCLC), past president and executive director of the Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) and in playing a leadership role in a variety of global initiatives, including the US-China library collaboration program, “Think Globally, Act Globally,” which was funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) and the Ministry of Culture in China.