Equality Award

About the Equality Award
An annual award consisting of $1000 and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement given to an individual or group for outstanding contribution toward promoting equality in the library profession. The contribution may be either a sustained one or a single outstanding accomplishment. The award may be given for an activist or scholarly contribution in such areas as pay equity, affirmative action, legislative work and non-sexist education.

Administered by:

American Library Association logo

2020 Winner(s)

Em Claire Knowles

assistant dean for Academic Affairs, College of Organizational, Computational, and Information Sciences at Simmons University

Knowles served as the first African American member at the School of Library and Information Science at Simmons University.  From her beginnings in this position she has served as a role model and mentor for students, faculty and alumni inside and outside the Library and information Science community.  Her sponsorship of a series of Diversity Summits involved the larger LIS community and has helped to define the LIS diversity goals at Simmons University.  She has been instrumental in developing EDI initiatives, including support for ALA Spectrum Initiative and for the School of Library and Information Science and played a key role in establishing an Anti-racism Study Group that provided training and programs throughout the community.