Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award

Deadline for nominations is December 1.


The award is given for distinguished contributions to serials librarianship, including but not limited to those made within the previous three years, demonstrated by such activities as leadership in serials-related activities through participation in professional associations and/or library education programs, contributions to the body of serials literature, conduct of research in the area of serials, development of tools or methods to enhance access to or management of serials, other advances leading to a better understanding of the field of serials.


  • ProQuest employees are not eligible to receive the award.
  • The award may be divided among two or more individuals who have participated jointly in the achievement for which it is granted.


The committee shall solicit nominations for the award during the year before its being granted and undertake its own investigations. Self-nominations are welcome.

Nomination packets should include:

  • a letter of nomination
  • from three to five letters of support
  • the nominee's resume
  • examples (no more than three) of the nominee's publications or other relevant documents.


Presented by ALCTS Continuing Resources Section, the award consists of:

  • a citation and
  • a $1,500 cash award donated by Ex Libris, a ProQuest company


The award is formally presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony at the ALA Annual Conference.

Award Jury

For nomination information contact Mary Page, chair of the Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award Jury.

Award Recipients

Year Recipient(s) Year Recipient(s) Year Recipient(s)
2020 no award given 2008 Victoria Reich 1996 Jean Hirons
2019 Ed Jones 2007 Julia Blixrud 1995 Peter Gellatly
2018 Susan Davis 2006 Karen Hunter 1994 Tina Feick
2017 Robert Bremer 2005 Dan Tonkery 1993 Ann L. Okerson
2016 Bonnie Parks 2004 Pamela Bluh 1992 Linda K. Bartley
2015 Maria Collins and
Rebecca Culbertson
2003 Frieda Rosenberg 1991 Deana L. Astle and
Charles A. Hamaker
2014 Les Hawkins 2002 Eric Lease Morgan 1990 Jean G. Cook
2013 Beverley Geer 2001 No Recipient 1989 John E. Merriman
2012 Valerie Bross 2000 Trisha L. Davis 1988 Marjorie E. Bloss
2011 Peter McCracken 1999 Regina Romano Reynolds 1987 James P. Danky
2010 Steve Shadle 1998 Crystal Graham 1986 Ruth C. Carter
2009 Brian Green 1997 Cindy Hepfer