Stonewall Book Awards

About the Stonewall Book Awards The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the LGBTQIA+ experience.

Administered by:

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Round Table logo

Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

2021 Winner(s)

Queer Games Avant-Garde: How LGBTQ Game Makers are Reimagining the Medium of Video Games

Bonnie Ruberg (they/them)

2021 Honor(s)

My Autobiography of Carson McCullers
by Jenn Shapland

Paper Bullets
by Jeffrey H. Jackson

The Fixed Stars: A Memoir
by Molly Wizenberg

XOXY: A Memoir
by Kimberly M. Zieselman

Barbara Gittings Literature Award

2021 Winner(s)

The Thirty Names of Night

by Zeyn Joukhadar

2021 Honor(s)

by Bryan Washington

More Than Organs
by Kay Ulanday Barrett

Postcolonial Love Poem
by Natalie Diaz

The Death of Vivek Oji
by Akwaeke Emezi