Stonewall Book Awards

About the Stonewall Book Awards The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the LGBTQIA+ experience.

Administered by:

Rainbow Round Table (RRT) logo

Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

2022 Winner(s)

"Dear Senthuran: A Black Spirit Memoir"

by Akwaeke Emezi

2022 Honor(s)

"A History of Scars"
by Laura Lee

"Hidden Case of Ewan Forbes: And the Unwritten History of the Trans Experience"
by Zoë Playdon

"Let the Record Show: A Political History of ACT UP New York, 1987-1993"
by Sarah Schulman

"Punch Me Up to the Gods: A Memoir"
by Brian Broome

Barbara Gittings Literature Award

2022 Winner(s)


by Rivers Solomon

2022 Honor(s)

“A Psalm for the Wild-Built”
by Becky Chambers

“Black Girl, Call Home”
by Jasmine Mans

“Light From Uncommon Stars"
by Ryka Aoki

“Stone Fruit”
by Lee Lai