Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award

About the Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award This award recognizes an individual librarian who has made an especially significant contribution to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment. The award honors Miriam Dudley, whose pioneering efforts in the field of bibliographic instruction led to the formation of the ACRL Instruction Section (formerly ACRL Bibliographic Instruction Section).

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logoInstruction Section logo

2016 Winner(s)

Wendy Holliday

Head of Teaching, Learning and Research Services at Northern Arizona University

“Throughout an extraordinary career, Wendy Holliday has demonstrated a passionate commitment to student learning and a willingness to collaborate across institutional boundaries that has inspired countless colleagues both in and outside the profession,” said award Chair Mark Szarko, literature, global studies and languages and theater arts librarian at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. “She has developed and led information literacy programs at both Utah State University and Northern Arizona University that serve as models for other institutions.”

“Her publications include more than 16 journal articles, book chapters, and essays, most published in peer-reviewed sources,” continued Szarko. “One of these articles, ‘Talking about Information Literacy: The Mediating Role of Discourse in a College Writing Classroom,’ was honored with the ACRL Instruction Section Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award in 2014. Her record of professional service within ACRL includes several key leadership positions in the Instruction Section. As a member of the ACRL Immersion Program faculty since 2011, she has taught several cohorts of librarians not only to become better teachers, but inspiring instructional leaders at their own institutions and beyond.”