IS Innovation Award

About the IS Innovation Award
This annual award recognizes a project that demonstrates creative, innovative, or unique approaches to information literacy instruction or programming.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logoInstruction Section logo

2018 Winner(s)

Trent Brager, Amy Mars, and Kim Pittman

for their work on 23 Framework Things, a free online professional development opportunity that helps librarians engage at their own pace through readings, activities, reflection, and discussion

23 Framework Things participants develop and share strategies with an emerging online community of practice while also earning prizes and badges. Each of the 23 Things addresses a different aspect of the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education (including metacognition, social justice, pedagogy, outreach/marketing, and assessment, among others) through resources such as readings, videos, or examples of the Framework in practice. The program provides an accessible entry point for librarians who want to learn more about the Framework but aren’t sure where to start. Participants respond to the resources provided by writing a reflection or discussion post, creating or adapting a lesson plan, or identifying stakeholders or partners in order to apply what they have learned to their specific teaching role and/or institutional context.

“The 23 Framework Things professional development program offers an innovative and open sourced solution to learning more about how to incorporate the Framework into information literacy instruction,” said award committee chair Maoria J. Kirker of George Mason University. “The self-paced program allows users to interact with other librarians through commenting and reflection as they consider local implementation of the Framework. With the expansion beyond the Minnesota Library Association and an indefinite extension of the program, 23 Framework Things is poised to help many librarians incorporate the Framework into their local context in the coming years.”

Although originally created for use by Minnesota librarians, 23 Framework Things was made available to all interested participants in response to enthusiastic interest expressed by librarians outside the state. There are currently more than 300 registered participants from 42 states plus Washington, D.C. and Puerto Rico, along with nine countries outside the United States.