EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award

About the EBSS Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award This award honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made an outstanding contribution as an education and/or behavioral sciences librarian through accomplishments and service to the profession.

Administered by:

Association of College and Research Libraries logoEducation and Behavioral Sciences Section logo

2019 Winner(s)

Joyce Garczynski

Assistant University Librarian for Development and Communications at Towson University

“With her impressive record of service to EBSS, her exceptional contribution to academic librarianship in education and behavioral sciences, her robust portfolio of publications and presentations, and her highly successful exemplary library programs, the committee is delighted to name Joyce Garczynski as the recipient of the EBSS Distinguished Librarian Award for 2019,” said award co-chairs Yu-Hui Chen, subject librarian for education and East Asian studies at the University of Albany-SUNY, and Stephanie Davis-Kahl, scholarly communications librarian at Illinois Wesleyan University. 

Chen and Davis-Kahl continued, “As Dr. Deborah A. Nolan, dean of university libraries at Towson University, stated in her support letter, ‘Her accomplishments within EBSS are significant and indeed transformative. She advocated for, and participated in, developing discipline specific information literacy standards to fit the new Framework. Joyce’s involvement and leadership in EBSS reflect her commitment to the profession, to the development and collaboration of librarians, and ultimately to the learning, scholarship, and achievements of our students and faculty.’ With great appreciation, we congratulate Joyce on her substantial contributions to the profession and her decade-long achievements.”