Mildred L. Batchelder Award

About the Mildred L. Batchelder Award
This award, established in Mildred L. Batchelder's honor in 1966, is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

Administered by:

Association for Library Service to Children logo
You Can’t Be Too Careful!2018 - Honor
When a Wolf is Hungry2018 - Honor
Malala: Activist for Girls’ Education2018 - Honor
The Murderer’s ApeThe Murderer's Ape2018 - Winner
Over the Ocean2017 - Honor
Cry, Heart, But Never Break2017 - Winner
As Time Went By2017 - Honor
The Ballad of a Broken Nose2017 - Honor
Written and Drawn by Henrietta2016 - Honor
Grandma Lives in a Perfume VillageGrandma Lives in a Perfume Village 2016 - Honor
Adam and Thomas2016 - Honor
The Wonderful Fluffy Little Squishy2016 - Winner
Nine Open Arms2015 - Honor
Hidden: A Child's Story of the Holocaust2015 - Honor
Mikis and the Donkey2015 - Winner
The Bathing Costume or the Worst Vacation of My Life2014 - Honor
Mister Orange2014 - Winner
My Father’s Arms Are a Boat2014 - Honor
The War Within These Walls2014 - Honor
Son of a Gun2013 - Honor
A Game for Swallows: To Die, to Leave, to ReturnA Game for Swallows2013 - Honor
My Family for the War2013 - Winner
Tak, Bibi DumonSoldier Bear2012 - Winner
Watkinson, LauraSoldier Bear2012 - Winner
Thor, AnnikaThe Lily Pond2012 - Honor
Schenck, LindaThe Lily Pond2012 - Honor
Hopman, PhilipSoldier Bear2012 - Winner
Atheneum Books for Young Readers2011 - Honor
Delacorte Press, and imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Random House, Inc.2011 - Winner
Namelos2011 - Honor
Arthur A. Levine Books, an Imprint of Scholastic, Inc.2010 - Honor
Farrar Straus Giroux2010 - Honor
Enchanted Lion Books2010 - Honor
Delacorte Press, and imprint of Random House Children's Books2010 - Winner
Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.2009 - Honor
Arthur A. Levine Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc.2009 - Winner
Amulet Books, an imprint of Harry N. Abrams, Inc.2009 - Honor
Phaidon Press2008 - Honor
Milkweed Editions2008 - Honor
VIZ Media2008 - Winner
Delacorte Press2007 - Winner
Delacorte Press2007 - Honor
Hyperion/Miramax2007 - Honor
Bloomsbury Children's Books2006 - Honor
Phaidon Press Limited2006 - Honor
Arthur A. Levine Books2006 - Winner
Richard Jackson Books/Simon & Schuster's Atheneum division2005 - Honor
Farrar Straus Giroux2005 - Honor
Delacorte Press/Random House Children's Books2005 - Winner
Walter Lorraine Books/Houghton Mifflin Company2004 - Winner
Chronicle Books2004 - Honor
The Chicken House/Scholastic Publishing2003 - Winner
David R. Godine2003 - Honor
Cricket Books/Carus Publishing2002 - Winner
Viking Press2002 - Honor
Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic Press2001 - Winner
David R. Godine2001 - Honor
Walker and Company2000 - Winner
Farrar, Straus and Giroux2000 - Honor
R&S Books2000 - Honor
Front Street2000 - Honor
Dial Books for Young Readers1999 - Winner
Viking Children's Books1999 - Honor
Viking Publishing1998 - Honor
Scholastic Press1998 - Honor
Henry Holt Books for Young Readers1998 - Winner
Farrar, Straus & Giroux1997 - Winner
Walker and Co.1996 - Honor
Henry Holt & Co.1996 - Honor
Houghton Mifflin1996 - Winner
Lothrop, Lee & Shepard1995 - Honor
Dutton Children's Books1995 - Winner
Farrar, Straus & Giroux1994 - Winner
Farrar, Straus & Giroux1994 - Honor
Viking Children's Books1994 - Honor
No awards given1993 - No Awards Given
Houghton Mifflin Company1992 - Winner
E.P. Dutton1991 - Winner
E.P. Dutton1990 - Winner
Lothrop, Lee & Shepard1989 - Winner
McElderry Books1988 - Winner
Lothrop, Lee & Shepard1987 - Winner
Creative Education1986 - Winner
Houghton Mifflin1985 - Winner
Viking Press1984 - Winner
Lothrop, Lee & Shepard1983 - Winner
Bradbury Press1982 - Winner
William Morrow & Co.1981 - Winner
E.P. Dutton1980 - Winner
Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, Inc.1979 - Winner
Franklin Watts, Inc.1979 - Winner
No awards given1978 - No Awards Given
Atheneum1977 - Winner
Henry Z. Walck1976 - Winner
Crown1975 - Winner
E.P. Dutton1974 - Winner
William Morrow & Co.1973 - Winner
Holt1972 - Winner
Pantheon Books1971 - Winner
Holt1970 - Winner
Charles Scribner's Sons1969 - Winner
Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.1968 - Winner