James Madison Award

About the James Madison Award The award named for President James Madison was established in 1989 and is presented annually on the anniversary of his birth to honor individuals or groups who have championed, protected and promoted public access to government information and the public’s right to know at the national level.View a list of previous recipients here.

Administered by:

Office of Government Relations logo

2015 Winner(s)

Senator John Cornyn

U.S. Senator (R-TX)

Since taking office in 2002, Senator Cornyn has led congressional efforts to improve the public’s access to government information. In 2007, he co-sponsored the OPEN Government Act, which reformed the Freedom of Information Act and created the Office of Government Information Services (GIS). Earlier this year, Sen. Cornyn introduced the FOIA Improvement Act of 2015, which would strengthen the GIS and would require that records be released unless there is foreseeable harm or a legal requirement to withhold them.

Senator Cornyn also has been active in the fight to make federally-funded research accessible to the public. As co-sponsors of both the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (FACTA) and the Fair Access to Science and Technology Research Act of 2013 (FASTR), Sen. Cornyn has spearheaded efforts to give Americans open access to taxpayer-funded research and to achieve the social and economic progress for which such access is a necessity.