faflrt logo

Scholarships Awards (Students self-nominate for this award)

The Federal Librarians Cicely Phippen Marks Scholarship is given to a library school student who has an interest in working in a Federal library. The student will receive a scholarship award of $1,500. Students who are currently enrolled in any ALA-accredited library school, who do not already have an ALA accredited degree, and who have expressed an interest in some aspect of Federal librarianship are eligible. Applicants must be full or part-time students at the time of application. Students nominate themselves for this award and a letter of reference from a Federal librarian, a library school professor, etc. may be sent to the Awards Committee Chair in support of an application.

Achievement Awards  (Only FAFLRT members may nominate someone for these awards)

The FAFLRT Distinguished Service Award recognizes a FAFLRT member for outstanding and sustained contributions to FAFLRT. Administered by the Federal and Armed Forces Libraries Round Table (FAFLRT).

The FAFLRT Achievement Award recognizes an individual for achievement in the promotion of library and information service and the information profession in the Federal community. Those nominated need not be members of FAFLRT. Administered by the Federal and Armed Forces Libraries Round Table (FAFLRT).

FAFLRT Rising Stars Initiative, administered by the Federal and Armed Forces Libraries Round Table (FAFLRT), highlights the achievements of those new to the profession. Rising Stars are those people who display a passion for the profession, both at work and via volunteer or association activities.  Rising Star candidates must:

  • Be a FAFLRT member in good standing
  • Work in a federal or armed forces library or government information management setting
  • Have graduated from an MLS/MLIS program five years ago or less
  • Been a professional librarian or information manager for five years or less

In 2011, a special Federal Librarians ProQuest Scholarship was awarded to Candice Melinda LaPlante, St. Catherine University, School of Library and Information Science

FAFLRT Awards Committee

Marla Chesler (202-647-2739) or

Katie Rapp  (301-330-9370) or

FAFLRT Awards Nomination Form

Nominations will be accepted between January and April 29, 2014, for the FAFLRT awards to be presented at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference.