2011 WrestleMania Reading Challenge Championship

The world championships for the 2011 WrestleMania Reading Challenge were held on April 2 at the Central Branch of the Atlanta Fulton Public Library in Atlanta. The winners are:

  • Grades 5-6: Eric Jose, Oshawa, Ont.
  • Grades 7-8: Marinna Vela, Zillah, Wash.
  • Grades 9-12: Brandy Eggleston, Durham, N.C.

They all won ring-side seats to WrestleMania XXVI as well as $2,000 for their libraries to use towards the purchase of materials for their tween and teen collections. Attending the event was award-winning author Joan Bauer, who served as judge, MC Jimmy Hart, Eve, Kofi Kingston, Big Show, and Hornswoggle.

Congratulations to the three winners!

2011 Finalists

Twenty regional winners in grades 5-12 from across the United States and Canada won a chance to compete in the WrestleMania® Reading Challenge World Finals. The WrestleMania Reading Challenge is sponsored by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and World Wrestling Entertainment® (WWE®), with support from Mattel, Penguin, Cold Stone Creamery, DK Publishing, E1 Entertainment and Topps.

Each regional winner won: a trip for two to Atlanta; tickets to WrestleMania XXVII; and $2,000 for their sponsoring library. More than 1,800 libraries participated in this year’s competition. Students pledged to read five items beginning during Teen Read Week and submitted bookmarks or other artwork that promoted reading.

The 2011 regional winners are:

Grades 9-12

  • Anthony Alakwe, Atlanta;
  • Roberto Cortez, San Diego;
  • Brandy Eggleston, Durham, N.C.;
  • Hilary Hunsley, Edmonton, Alb.;
  • Elmaz Mohmutovic, Sioux Falls, S.D.;
  • Rebecca Murrell, Courtice, Ont.; and
  • Sarah Walker, Philadelphia.

Grades 7-8

  • Khalid Hamin, Atlanta;
  • Kyain Jones, Schenectady, N.Y.;
  • Courtney Brown, Julian, N.C.;
  • Luke Taylor, Dundas, Ont.;
  • Marinna Vela, Zillah, Wash.; and
  • Caitlan Wolkenhauer, Fessenden, N.D.

Grades 5-6

  • Trey Johnson, Swedesboro, N.J.;
  • Eric Jose, Oshawa, Ont.;
  • Chase Leclair, Sherwood Park, Alb.;
  • Bryant Martin Jr., Atlanta;
  • Cristian Patino, Hammond, Ind.;
  • Selina Rosas, Marion, Texas; and
  • Angel Solis, Los Angeles.