Printz Award 2017

2017 Winner


Bone Ga
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
Published by Top Shelf Productions, an imprint of IDW Publishing
This graphic novel is the conclusion of the March trilogy, a gripping autobiographical account of Congressman John Lewis’s experiences during the Civil Rights Movement. It follows Lewis’s involvement with the Mississippi Freedom Summer and the March on Selma, concluding with a call to action for today’s youth.

2017 Honor Books

Asking for It

Asking for It

By Louise O’Neill 

Published by Quercus, a Hachette Company 

After a party, Emma Donovan is found dumped outside her house with no recollection of the previous night. Pictures go viral showing her being raped. Lacking support from her small Irish town, Emma becomes a shell of her previous self, struggling with the question of whether she asked for it. 

 The Passion of Dolssa

The Passion of Dolssa

By Julie Berry

Published by Viking Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers   

This beautiful historical epic tells the tale of Dolssa, an accused heretic on the run, and the three sisters who find and help her during the time of the Inquisition. Through recollections and testimonies, Dolssa’s layered story unfolds across time periods with rich language and historical detail. 



By Neal Shusterman

Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster’s Children’s Publishing

In a future where death has been eradicated, scythes are selected to control overpopulation by “gleaning” random members of society. Teens Citra and Rowan are selected as apprentices and are thrust into a world of political intrigue. “Scythe” is a powerful examination of ethics, humanity and the flaws of immortality. 

The Sun is Also A Star

The Sun is Also a Star 

By Nicola Yoon 

Published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House 

Members of the 2017 Printz Award Committee are: Chair Melanie Koss, Northern Illinois University, Chicago; Jonatha Basye, Bateman Library, Langley Air Force Base, Va.; Stephanie Charlefour, Gay-Kimball Library, Keene, N.H.; Karen Keys, Brooklyn (N.Y.) Public Library; Jeanne McDermott, Queens (N.Y.) Library; Kefira Philippe, Nichols Middle School, Evanston, Ill.; Katie Richert, Bloomingdale (Ill.) Public Library; Jessi Schulte-Honstad, Washington County Library, Woodbury, Minn.; Christina Vortia, Wesley Chapel, Fla.; Award Administrative Assistant Sharon Levin, Redwood City, Calif.; and Sarah Hunter, Booklist Consultant, Chicago.

Previous Winners

View a complete list of Michael L. Printz winners and honor book authors.

More information on previous winners.