Odyssey Award 2013

2013 Winner

The Fault in Our Stars

Brilliance Audio, producer of the audiobook, The Fault in Our Stars won the 2013 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production.

The Fault in Our Stars written by John Green and narrated by Kate Rudd, perfectly captures the mercurial characters of Hazel Grace and Augustus, teens whose chance meeting in a cancer support group, surprises them both as they embark on an emotional roller coaster of a journey.

“Late in the Midwinter of our deliberations, this exquisitely understated performance by Kate Rudd, captured the magic of John Green’s words and our hearts,said Odyssey Award Committee Chair Teri S. Lesesne.

2013 Honor Recordings

Artemis Fowl

Artemis Fowl:  The Last Guardian written by Eoin Colfer, narrated by Nathaniel Parker and produced by Listening Library, immerses listeners in a world populated with fairies, trolls, and Opal Koboi—Artemis Fowl’s archenemy.  Nathaniel Parker’s energetic performance conveys the rollicking adventures listeners have come to expect from Artemis Fowl.

Ghost Knight

Ghost Knight written by Cornelia Funke, narrated by Elliot Hill and produced by Listening Library, gives voice to a pack of apparitions, who endanger the life of Jon Whitcroft, a boy miserably confined to a boarding school.  As Jon and his new friend Ella seek to solve a century-old mystery, danger threatens their every move.  Elliot Hill’s narration ably balances the real and ghostly worlds.

Monstrous Beauty

Monstrous Beauty written by Elizabeth Fama, narrated by Katherine Kellgren and produced by Macmillan Audio, intertwines two stories set generations apart, as Hester learns about her ancestor, a mermaid named Syrenka, who left her sea family to pursue her true love on land.  Katherine Kellgren brings to life the voice of mermaids, seagulls, ghosts, and contemporary teens in this romance with supernatural overtones.

Members of the 2013 Odyssey Award Committee are: Chair Dr. Teri S. Lesesne, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, Texas;  Joanna L. Axelrod, Escondido (Calif.) Public Library; Bruce Farrar, Harris County Public Library, Houston, Texas; Dana Folkerts, Thomas Ford Memorial Library, Western Springs, Ill.; Deborah Kaplan, Tufts University, Medford, Mass.; Nichole King, Morgan Hill (Calif.) Public Library; Karen M. Perry, North Carolina Association of School Librarians, High Point, N.C.; Janet Raelene Weber, Tigard (Ore.) Public Library; Patsy L. Weeks, Howard Payne University Heart of Texas Literature Center, Brownwood, Texas; and  Sue-Ellen Beauregard, Consultant, Booklist magazine, Chicago.

Back to Odyssey Award homepage