YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

nonfiction award nominee nonfiction finalist nonfiction award

YALSA launched a Teen Book Finder Database, a one-stop shop for finding YALSA's selected lists and award winners. Search this free resource by award, list name, year, author, genre and more, as well as print customizable lists. This replaces the individual award and list web pages on YALSA’s site that are not searchable and that are organized only by year.

YALSA's Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year. The winner is announced annually at the ALA Youth Media Awards, with a shortlist of up to five titles named the first week of December.

Suggest a Title

Current Winner & Finalists

Official Nomination Lists

Previous Winners

Policies and Procedures

Committee Contacts


Teen Book Finder App & Database

2024 Finalists


“Accountable: The True Story of a Racist Social Media Account and the Teenagers Whose Lives It Changed,” by Dashka Slater. Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group. 9780374314347.

When a high school student started a private Instagram account that used racist and sexist memes to make his friends laugh, he thought it was "edgy" humor. Then a few other kids found out about the account and soon, everyone knew. Unfortunately, no one in the small town of Albany, CA was safe from the repercussions of the account's discovery. In the end, no one was laughing. And everyone was left asking: “where does accountability end for online speech that harms? And what does accountability even mean?


“America Redux: Visual Stories from Our Dynamic History,” written and illustrated by Ariel Aberg-Riger. Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins. 9780063057531.

Through Aberg-Riger's mix of writing and collage, we learn about aspects of American History that are often not discussed, and she does not shy away from difficult topics. The exploitation of BIPOC individuals is front and center as she shows how this exploitation helped build our country.


“Family Style: Memories of an American from Vietnam,” written by Thien Pham. First Second, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group. Paperback 9781250809711/Hardcover 9781250809728

In this captivating graphic memoir, Thein and his family embark on a poignant journey to the United States. Seamlessly weaving together themes of food, family, and resilience, Pham's narrative will resonate deeply with readers.


“From Here,” by Luma Mufleh. Nancy Paulsen Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House. 9780593354452.

Mufleh's journey as a gay teenager navigating a religious family's expectations is powerfully relatable for many teens. Through her courageous decision to journey to the United States, the narrative beautifully showcases her unwavering bravery and resilience.


“Nearer My Freedom: The Interesting Life of Olaudah Equiano by Himself,” by Monica Edinger and Lesley Younge. Zest Books, an imprint of Lerner Publishing Group. 9781728450988.

Told in found verse, using Equiano's own writings, this book spans his life from childhood through his enslavement and travels as a free man.

Members of the 2024 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults committee are: Chair Janet Hilbun, Garland, Texas; Anne Dame, Seattle; Candace Fox, Parma, Ohio; Cyndi Hamann, Arlington Heights, Illinois; Thea Hashagen, San Francisco; Amy Ojserkis, Media Center, Atlantic County Institute of Technology, Mays Landing, New Jersey; Kali Olson, Minneapolis; Celeste Swanson, Richmond, Indiana; and Monica Toomer, Homestead, Florida.

Looking for more Nonfiction? View the list of nominated titles.

YALSA’s portfolio of book and media awards helps strengthen library services for and with teens by identifying quality, age appropriate resources for librarians and library workersto share with the teens in their communities.

Previous Winners

View a complete list of Nonfiction Award winners and finalists.

2020 Nonfiction Award

2019 Nonfiction Award

2018 Nonfiction Award

2017 Nonfiction Award

2016 Nonfiction Award

2015 Nonfiction Award

2014 Nonfiction Award

2013 Nonfiction Award

2012 Nonfiction Award

2011 Nonfiction Award

2010 Nonfiction Award