Edwards Award 2011

Sir Terry Pratchett

sir terry pratchett

Sir Terry Prachett is the recipient of the 2011 Margaret A. Edwards Award,  honoring his significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for the following nine titles:

amazing maurice and his educated rodents the wee free men a hat full of sky going postal the color of magic

guards! guards! equal rites mort small gods

  • The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents, published by HarperCollins Children's Books
  • The Wee Free Men, published by HarperCollins Children's Books
  • A Hat Full of Sky, published by HarperCollins Children's Books
  • Going Postal, published by HarperCollins Publishers
  • The Colour of Magic, published by HarperCollins Publishers
  • Guards! Guards!, published by HarperCollins Publishers
  • Equal Rites, published by HarperCollins Publishers
  • Mort, published by HarperCollins Publishers
  • Small Gods, published by HarperCollins Publishers

Knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 2009 for services to literature, Pratchett published his first short story when he was thirteen.  A resident of Somerset, England, Pratchett has one daughter, a wife, and many cats.  He has published more than fifty books and his works have been translated into thirty-six languages.

Pratchett’s tales of Discworld have won over generations of teen readers with intelligence, heart, and undeniable wit. Comic adventures that fondly mock the fantasy genre, the Discworld novels expose the hypocrisies of contemporary society in an intricate, ever-expanding universe. With satisfyingly multilayered plots, Pratchett’s humor honors the intelligence of the reader. Teens eagerly lose themselves in a universe with no maps.

“Pratchett’s work draws teens into a world where humor, perseverance, and hope are the order of the day,” said Edwards Committee Chair Robin Brenner.

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), announced the award at the ALA Midwinter Meeting, held Jan. 7-11 in San Diego.

Prachett was honored at the YALSA Edwards Award Luncheon and presented with a citation and cash prize of $2,000 during the 2011 ALA Annual Conference to be held in New Orleans, June 23-28.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award is sponsored by School Library Journal and administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the ALA.

Members of the 2011 Edwards Committee are: Chair Robin Brenner, Brookline (Mass.) Public Library; Amy J. Alessio, Schaumburg (Ill.) Township District Library; Christine A. Jenkins, University of Illinois, Champaign, Ill.; Betsy Levine, San Francisco Public Library; and Hollis Rudiger, Madison West High School, Madison, Wis.