2011 Literary Award Speeches

Read remarks from the 2011 awards ceremonies, honoring YALSA's literary award winners.

Morris Award Speech

In 2011, Blythe Woolston won the Morris Award for best first novel for teens for The Freak Observer. Finalist authors Karen Healey, Lish McBride, and Barabara Stuber also spoke at the reception at the 2011 Midwinter Meeting in San Diego.

Woolston's speech (PDF)

Healey's speech (PDF)

McBride's speech (PDF)

Stuber's speech (PDF)

Nonfiction Award Speeches

Ann Angel won the 2011 Nonfiction Award for Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing. Rick Bowers was a finalist for Spies of Mississippi.

Angel's speech (PDF)

Bower's speech (PDF)

Printz Award Speeches

The 2011 Printz Program and Reception took place in New Orleans, Louisiana, in June 2012. Paolo Bacigalupi won for Ship Breaker. Transcripts are available for his speech, as well as those of honor book authors Lucy Christopher (Stolen), A.S. King (Please Ignore Vera Dietz) and Marcus Sedgwick (Revolver).

Bacigalupi's speech (PDF)

Christopher's speech (PDF)

King's speech (PDF)

Sedgwick's speech (PDF)