2023 Alex Awards

alex awards2023 Winners

View the Official 2023 Nominations!


  • A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting, by Sophie Irwin, published by Pamela Dorman Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House (9780593491348)
  • Babel, Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators' Revolution, by R. F. Kuang, published by Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollins (9780063021426)
  • Chef’s Kiss, by Jarrett Melendez, illustrated by Danica Brine, published by Oni Press, an imprint of Oni-Lion Forge Publishing Group (9781620109045)
  • Daughter of the Moon Goddess, by Sue Lynn Tan, published by Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollins (9780063031302)
  • I’m Glad My Mom Died, by Jennette McCurdy, published by Simon & Schuster (9781982185824)
  • Solito: A Memoir, by Javier Zamora, published by Hogarth, an imprint of RandomHouse, a division of Penguin Random House (9780593498064)
  • The High Desert: Black. Punk. Nowhere., written and illustrated by James Spooner, published by Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins (9780358659112)
  • The Kaiju Preservation Society, by John Scalzi, published by Tor Books, an imprint of Tom Doherty Associates, a division of Macmillan (9780765389121)
  • True Biz, by Sara Nović, published by Random House, an imprint and division of Penguin Random House (9780593241509)
  • Wash Day Diaries, by Jamila Rowser, illustrated by Robyn Smith, published by Chronicle Books (9781797205458)

2023 Committee Members

Members of the 2023 Alex Awards Committee are: Chair Jane Gov, Pasadena Public Library, California; Heather Christensen, Portales High School, New Mexico; Aryssa Damron, District of Columbia Public Library, Washington, D.C.; Sara Day, Woodland Public Library, Woodland, California; Kendra Fitzpatrick, City of Santa Clarita Public Libraries, California; Elizabeth Page, Pasadena, California; Kayla Payne, Alexandria Public Library, Virginia; Cathy Rettberg, Retired Librarian, Menlo School, Atherton, California; and, Melody Scagnelli-Town, Bayonne Public Library, New Jersey.

Previous Winners