2022 Morris Award

2022 Winner

Firekeeper’s Daughter written by Angeline Boulley and published by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, 13-978-1250766564.
Daunis, a half-Ojibwe, half-white former hockey player/aspiring scientist never feels fully settled in either her reservation or the outside world. She finds herself even more torn when she witnesses her best friend’s murder and is pulled into an FBI investigation centered on a lethal new drug running wild among her friends and family.

2022 Finalists

Ace of Spades written by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé and published by Feiwel & Friends, 13-9781250800817. 
 At Niveus Private Academy, Devon and Chiamaka are the only black students, which makes them targets for a series of anonymous texts revealing their secrets to the entire student body. Both students were on track toward valedictorian and bright college futures, but this prank turns quickly into a treacherous game that might be fatal.


Vampires, Hearts, & Other Dead Things written by Margie Fuston and published by Margaret K. McElderry Books, 13 – 978-1534474574.
As her father lies gravely ill with pancreatic cancer, Victoria's last desperate hope is to find a vampire in New Orleans, an impossible mission that allows her to process her grief and experience life again.


Me (Moth) written by Amber McBride, published by Feiwel & Friends, 13-978-1250780362.
Aspiring dancer Moth, the Black granddaughter of a Hoodoo root worker, and Sani, a musically talented Navajo boy, embark on a road-trip and together face their demons of grief, depression, and memories of the past.


What Beauty There Is written by Cory Anderson and published by Roaring Brook Press, 13-978-1250268099.
Danger stalks Jack as he attempts to save his brother from foster care and evade his father's old partner, Bardem, looking for his stolen drug money. Who holds the brothers' fates in her hands, but Bardem's timid daughter, Ava, in this heart-pounding story of survival and sacrifice. 


2022 Committee

Members of the 2022 William C. Morris Award Committee are: Patty Gonzales Ramirez (Chair), Kit Ballenger, Rebecca Caufman, Michelle Cheng, Beth Davis, Kara Hunter, Beth Kirchenberg, Ellen Wickham (Liason)

Previous Winners

View a complete list of previous Morris Award winners and finalists.

2021 Morris Award 

2020 Morris Award

2019 Morris Award

2018 Morris Award

2017 Morris Award

2016 Morris Award

2015 Morris Award

2014 Morris Award

2013 Morris Award

2012 Morris Award

2011 Morris Award

2010 Morris Award

2009 Morris Award