2018 Speeches

Read remarks from the 2018 awards ceremonies, honoring YALSA's literary award winners.

Edwards Speech

Angela Johnson is the recipient of the 2018 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for "Heaven", "Looking for Red", "The First Part Last", "Sweet, Hereafter", "Bird", and "Toning the Sweep".

Angela Johnson's speech (PDF)

Morris Award Speeches

In 2018, Angie Thomas won the Morris Award for best first novel for teens for The Hate U Give. 

Finalists were Dear Martin written by Nic Stone, Devils Within written by S.F. Henson, Saints and Misfits written by S.K. Ali, and Starfish written by Akemi Dawn Bowman. The reception was held at the 2018 Midwinter Meeting in Denver. 

S.F. Henson's Speech (PDF)

S.K. Ali's speech (PDF)

Akemi Dawn Bowman's speech (PDF)

Nonfiction Award Speeches

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers written by Deborah Heiligman

Finalists were #NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women edited by Mary Beth Leatherdale and Lisa Charleyboy, Eyes of the World: Robert Capa, Gerda Taro, and the Invention of Modern Photojournalism written by Marc Aronson and Marina Budhos, The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives written by Dashka Slater, and The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found written by Martin W. Sandler.

Deborah Heiligman's speech (PDF)

Marc Aronson's and Marina Budhos' speech (PDF)

Martin Sandler's speech (PDF) 

Martin Sandler' speech (MOV)

Dashka Slater's speech (PDF)

Printz Award Speeches

The 2018 Printz winner was Nina LaCour for We Are Okay.

Honor book authors Jason Reynolds for Long Way Down, Angie Thomas for The Hate U Give, Laini Taylor for Strange the Dreamerand Deborah Heiligman for Vincent and Theo

Nina LaCour's speech (PDF)

Deborah Heiligman's speech (PDF)

Jason Reynold's speech (PDF)