2018 Morris Award

2018 Winner

The Hate U Give written by Angie Thomas and published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Starr Carter has learned to live in two worlds, managing her life as a prep-school student by day while returning each night to the low-income neighborhood she calls home. After witnessing the murder of her unarmed friend Khalil by a police officer, these two worlds collide, and Starr must decide what risks she is willing to take to pursue justice.  

2018 Finalists

Dear Martin written by Nic Stone and published by Crown Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House.

Justyce McAllister is captain of the Braselton Prep debate team and an honor roll student. But after being profiled by the police and ending up in handcuffs, Justyce turns to the legacy of Dr. King, hoping King’s teachings can help him navigate today’s world. But when Justyce and his best friend are caught in the cross-hairs of a violent misunderstanding, Justyce is forced to deal with the media fallout that threatens to destroy his future.

Devils Within written by S.F. Henson published by Sky Pony Press an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing.

After Nate Fuller kills his father in self-defense, he must find a way to redefine what’s right and wrong and learn to trust again. But when two followers of The Fort, his father’s white supremacist group, arrive in Nate’s new town, he knows blood is going to spill—he’s just not sure whose.

Saints and Misfits written by S.K. Ali, published by Salaam Reads, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing.

Bookish 15-year-old Janna Yusufis an Arab American hijabi teen struggling with friendships, crushes, and reconciling her place in and loyalty to her Muslim community. After she is sexually assaulted by “the Monster,” the seemingly devout cousin of her best friend, she must find the strength to stand up for herself.


Starfish written by Akemi Dawn Bowman, published by Simon Pulse, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing.

Kiko Himura knows the key to escaping her narcissistic mother is getting into her dream art school. When her rejection letter and abusive uncle both arrive at her home at nearly the same time, Kiko flees with her childhood crush to California, where she meets a famous artist and at last begins to find her own voice.

2018 Committee

Members of the 2018 William C. Morris Award Committee are:  Chair Sarah Julsonnet, Trinity Episcopal School, Austin, TX; Ariel Birdoff, New York Public Library, New York, NY; Theodosia (Thea) Hashagen, San Francisco, CA; Beth Kirchenberg, River Forest Public Library, River Forest, IL; Jessica Lundin, South Regional Library, Durham, NC; Cate Merlin, Peabody Institute Library, Peabody, MA; Sarah Schmitt, formerly with Hancock County Public Library, Greenfield, IN; Talya Sokoll, Noble and Greenough School, Dedham, MA; Emily Townsend, Teachingbooks.net, Madison, WI; and Daniel Kraus, Booklist Consultant, Chicago, IL.

Previous Winners

View a complete list of previous Morris Award winners and finalists.

2017 Morris Award

2016 Morris Award

2015 Morris Award

2014 Morris Award

2013 Morris Award

2012 Morris Award

2011 Morris Award

2010 Morris Award

2009 Morris Award