2016 Speeches

Read remarks from the 2016 awards ceremonies, honoring YALSA's literary award winners.

Edwards Speech

David Levithan is the recipient of the 2016 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring his significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for “The Realm of Possibility”, “Boy Meets Boy”, “Love is the Higher Law”, “How They Met, and Other Stories”, “Wide Awake”, and “Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist”

David Levithan's speech (PDF)

Morris Award Speeches

In 2016, Becky Albertalli won the Morris Award for best first novel for teens for Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

Finalists were Because You’ll Never Meet Me written by Leah Thomas, Conviction written by Kelly Loy Gilbert, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly written by Stephanie Oakes, and The Weight of Feathers written by Anna-Marie McLemore. The reception was held at the 2016 Midwinter Meeting in Boston.

Kelly Loy Gilbert's speech (VIDEO)

Stephanie Oakes' speech (PDF)

Anna-Marie McLemore's speech (PDF)

Nonfiction Award Speeches

Steve Sheinkin won the 2016 Nonfiction Award for Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War.

Finalists were Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad written by M.T. Anderson, Enchanted Air: Two Cultures, Two Wings: A Memoir written by Margarita Engle, First Flight Around the World: The Adventures of the American Fliers Who Won the Race written by Tim Grove, and This Strange Wilderness: The Life and Art of John James Audubon written by Nancy Plain.

Margarita Engle's speech (PDF)

Tim Groves speech (PDF)

Nancy Plain's speech (PDF)

Printz Award Speeches

The 2016 Printz winner was Laura Ruby for Bone Gap.

Laura Ruby's Speech (PDF).

Honor book authors Marcus Sedgwick for The Ghosts of Heaven and Ashley Hope Pérez for Out of Darkness participated in a panel discussion.