2016 Morris Award

2016 Winner

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda written by Becky Albertalli, published by Balzer & Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

On the brink of coming out, Simon's plans are derailed by a scheming classmate who learns about Simon's email exchanges with a mysterious boy that Simon may just be falling in love with.

2016 Finalists

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

Because You’ll Never Meet Me written by Leah Thomas, published by Bloomsbury Children's Books

Ollie ​is allergic to electricity​ and lives in isolation with his mother. Moritz was born with no eyes​, has a pacemaker, and is bullied at school. ​They become pen pals and unlikely friends as they learn more about one another.

Conviction by Kelly Loy Gilbert

Conviction written by Kelly Loy Gilbert, published by Hyperion, an imprint of Disney Book Group

Braden is firm in his convictions; he trusts his father, believes deeply in God, and is dedicated to a future playing baseball. His faith, truth, and justice are tested when his father is accused of murder.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly written by Stephanie Oakes, published by Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers

After spending most of her life in the Kevinian Cult, Minnow loses her family, her freedom, and her hands. Now Minnow is behind bars, recounting her life in the cult and facing what really happened the night the camp burned down, leaving the Prophet dead.

The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

The Weight of Feathers written by Anna-Marie McLemore, published by Thomas Dunne Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press

Lace and Cluck are from rival performing families. The troupes only cross paths once a year, but tensions mount and fights break out. When tragedy strikes during a performance, fate thrusts them together and the star-crossed pair are forced to deal with their families' feuding past.

2016 Committee

Members of the 2016 William C. Morris Award Committee are: Chair Nichole King, Santa Clara County Library District, Morgan Hill (Calif.); Faythe M. Arredondo, Tulare County Library, Visalia, Calif.; Valerie Frances Diamond, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore, Md.; Jennifer Fairchild, King County (Wash.) Library System; Adrienne Gillespie, Stoller Middle School, Beaverton (Ore.); April Layne Shroeder, Loudoun County (Va.) Public Library; Gregory S. Taylor, Hillside Junior High School, Bosie, Idaho; Carolyn Vidmar, Waunakee (Wis.) Public Library; and Sarah Wethern, Douglas County Library, Alexandria, Minn.; and Daniel Kraus, Booklist Consultant, Chicago.

Previous Winners

View a complete list of previous Morris Award winners and finalists.

2015 Morris Award

2014 Morris Award

2013 Morris Award

2012 Morris Award

2011 Morris Award

2010 Morris Award

2009 Morris Award