2015 Speeches

Read remarks from the 2015 awards ceremonies, honoring YALSA's literary award winners.

Edwards Speech

Sharon M. Draper is the recipient of the 2015 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for “Tears of a Tiger”; “Forged by Fire”; “Darkness Before Dawn”; “The Battle of Jericho”; “November Blues” and “Copper Sun.”

Sharon M. Draper's Speech (PDF)

Morris Award Speeches

In 2015, Isabel Quintero won the Morris Award for best first novel for teens for Gabi, a Girl in Pieces.

Finalists were The Carnival at Bray written by Jessie Ann Foley, The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim written by E.K. Johnston, The Scar Boys written by Len Vlahos,and The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender written by Leslye Walton. The reception was held at the 2015 Midwinter Meeting in Chicago.

Jessie Ann Foley's Speech (PDF)

Len Vlahos' Speech (PDF)

Leslye Walton's Speech (PDF)

Nonfiction Award Speeches

Maya Van Wagenen won the 2015 Nonfiction Award for Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek. Watch Maya's Speech (.mov)

Finalists were Laughing at My Nightmare written by Shane Burcaw, The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion & the Fall of Imperial Russia written by Candace Fleming, Ida M. Tarbell: The Woman Who Challenged Big Business—and Won! written by Emily Arnold McCully, and The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights written by Steve Sheinkin.

Watch Burcaw's Speech (Mp4)

Fleming's Speech (Mp4)

Watch Sheinkin's Speech (Mp4)

Printz Award Speeches

The 2015 Printz winner was Jandy Nelson for I’ll Give You the Sun. Jandy Nelson's Speech (PDF)

Honor book authors Jenny Hubbard for And We Stay, Jessie Ann Foley for The Carnival at Bray, Andrew Smith for Grasshopper Jungle, and Mariko and Jillian Tamaki for This One Summer participated in a panel discussion.