2015 Morris Award


2015 Winner

Gabi, a Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero












Gabi, a Girl in Pieces written by Isabel Quintero, published by Cinco Puntos Press.

Aspiring poet Gabi Hernandez is having a complicated senior year: One of her best friends is pregnant, and the other just came out. Even as her mother worries that she will become a "bad” girl, Gabi adds romance and the quest for college to her already full plate.

2015 Finalists

The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

The Carnival at Bray written by Jessie Ann Foley, published by Elephant Rock Books.

In 1993, the grunge movement is at its height and Maggie Lynch is living comfortably in Chicago, near Nanny Ei and Uncle Kevin, her musical guru. After her impulsive mother marries and moves the family to a tiny Irish village, Maggie struggles to adjust to the changing world around her.  

The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston

The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim written by E.K. Johnston, published by Carolrhoda Lab™, an imprint of Carolrhoda Books, a division of Lerner Publishing Group.

Owen is training to be a dragon slayer, a crucial job in a world where dragons bring death and destruction. With help from their friends and family, Owen and his bard Siobhan seek the source of a growing dragon threat.


The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos

The Scar Boys written by Len Vlahos, published by Egmont Publishing.  

In a college admission essay, Harry Jones reveals the physical and psychological scars of his childhood and the solace and self-confidence he found in friendship and punk music.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender written by Leslye Walton, published by Candlewick Press.

Born with a pair of wings, sixteen-year-old Ava Lavender inherits a rich family history and a legacy of heartbreak. After a young man becomes convinced she is an angel, can Ava survive his obsession intact? 

2015 Committee

Members of the 2015 William C. Morris Award Committee are:  Chair Robin F. Kurz, School of Library and Information Management, Emporia (Kan.) State University; Stephanie Barta, Westerly (R.I.) Public Library; Julie Benolken, Inver Hills Community College, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.; Molly M. Collins, Charlotte Mecklenburg (N.C.) Library; Colette Drouillard, Department of Library and Information Studies, Valdosta (Ga.) State University; Matt Layne, The Emmet O’Neal Library, Mountain Brook, Ala.; Candace Reeder, Northport-East Northport (N.Y.) Public Library; Carla Riemer, Claremont Middle School, Oakland, Calif.; Amanda Sprott-Goldson (administrative assistant), Charlotte Mecklenburg (N.C.) Library; and Ilene Cooper (Booklist consultant), Chicago.

Previous Winners

View a complete list of previous Morris Award winners and finalists.

2014 Morris Award

2013 Morris Award

2012 Morris Award

2011 Morris Award

2010 Morris Award

2009 Morris Award