Read remarks from the 2014 awards ceremonies, honoring YALSA's literary award winners.

Edwards Speech

On June 28, Markus Zusak spoke at the Margaret A. Edwards Award Luncheon. Zusak won the 2014 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring his significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for “The Book Thief,” “Fighting Ruben Wolfe,” “Getting the Girl,” and “I Am the Messenger.”

Morris Award Speeches

In 2014, Stephanie Kuehn won the Morris Award for best first novel for teens for Charm & Strange. Finalists were Sex & Violence written by Carrie Mesrobian, Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets written by Evan Roskos, Belle Epoque written by Elizabeth Ross,and In the Shadow of Blackbirds written by Cat Winters. The reception was held at the 2014 Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia.

Carrie Mesrobian's Speech

Cat Winters' Speech

Elizabeth Ross' Speech

Stephanie Kuehn's Speech

Nonfiction Award Speeches

Neal Bascomb won the 2014 Nonfiction Award for The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi. Finalists were Go: A Kidd's Guide to Graphic Design written by Chip Kidd, Imprisoned: The Betrayal of Japanese Americans During World War II, Courage Has No Color: The True Story of the Triple Nickles, America's First Black Paratroopers written by Tanya Lee Stone, and The President Has Been Shot! The Assassination of John F. Kennedy written by James L. Swanson.

Read Bascomb's Speech (PDF)

Read Kidd's Speech (PDF)

Read Stone's Speech (PDF)

Printz Award Speeches

The 2014 Printz winner was Marcus Sedgwick for Midwinterblood. Transcripts are available for his speech. Honor book authors Rainbow Rowell for Eleanor & Park, Susann Cokal for Kingdom of Little Wounds, Sally Gardner for MAGGOT MOON, and Clare Vanderpool for Navigating Early participated in a panel discussion.

Read Marcus’ speech (PDF)