2013 Speeches

Read remarks from the 2013 awards ceremonies, honoring YALSA's literary award winners.

Edwards Speech

On June 29, Tamora Pierce spoke at the Margaret A. Edwards Award Luncheon. Pierce won the 2013 Edwards Award for significant and lasting contribution to writing for young adults for her Song of the Lioness quartet: “Alanna: The First Adventure”; “In the Hand of the Goddess"; "The Woman Who Rides Like a Man”; and “Lioness Rampant” and The Protector of the Small quartet: “First Test”; “Page”; “Squire”; and “Lady Knight”. Read her 2013 speech (PDF).

Morris Award Speeches

In 2013, Rachel Hartman won the Morris Award for best first novel for teens for Seraphina. Finalist authors were Hannah Barnaby, Laura Buzo, S. D. Crockett, and emily m. danforth. The reception was held at the 2013 Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

Barnaby's speech (PDF) Barnaby's speech (MP4)

danforth's speech (.MOV)

Crockett's speech (.MOV)

Nonfiction Award Speeches

Steve Sheinkin won the 2013 Nonfiction Award for Bomb: The Race to Build - and Steal- the World's Most Dangerous Weapon. Finalists were Karen Blumenthal (Steve Jobs: The Man Who Thought Different) Phillip Hoose (Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95) and Deborah Hopkinson (Titanic: Voices from the Disaster) and Cynthia Levinson (We've Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March).

Video of Sheinkin's speech (WMV)

Blumenthal's speech (PDF)

Levinson's speech (PDF) Levinson's speech (YouTube)

Printz Award Speeches

The 2013 Printz Program and Reception took place in Chicago on July 1, 2013. Nick Lake won for In Darkness. Transcripts are available for his speech, as well as honor book authors Benjamin Alire Sáenz (Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe), Elizabeth Wein (Code Name Verity), and Beverley Brenna (The White Bicycle). Terry Pratchett (Dodger) was not in attendance.

Lake's speech (PDF)

Sáenz's speech (PDF)

Wein's speech (PDF)

Brenna's speech (PDF)