2010 Odyssey Award

The Odyssey Award is presented to the producer of the best audiobook produced for youth available in English in the United States. The award is jointly administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), divisions of ALA, and is sponsored by Booklist magazine.Award Audiobook.


2010 Winner

louise: the adventures of a chicken

Live Oak Media, producer of the audiobook, Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken, written by Kate DiCamillo, narrated by Barbara Rosenblat and produced by Live Oak Media, has won the third annual Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production.

Louise, a French chicken with wanderlust, finds adventure in Kate DiCamillo’s comical picture book. Whimsical sound effects, playful background music and Barbara Rosenblat’s impressive repertoire of voices combine in this tour-de-force listening experience.


2010 Honor Recordings

in the belly of the bloodhound peace, locomotion we are the ship: the story of negro league baseball

The Odyssey Committee selected three Honor Audiobooks.

In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber, written by L.A. Meyer, narrated by Katherine Kellgren and produced by Listen & Live Audio, Inc. Katherine Kellgren pulls out all the vocal stops, singing and spinning yarns in her dynamic reading of L.A. Meyer’s fourth dramatic Bloody Jack escapade.

Peace, Locomotion written by Jacqueline Woodson, narrated by Dion Graham and produced by Brilliance Audio. Through Dion Graham's heartfelt performance, Lonnie Collins shares hopes for peace in letters to his beloved sister, heightening the lyrical narrative of Jacqueline Woodson's story.

We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball, written by Kadir Nelson, narrated by Dion Graham and produced by Brilliance Audio. Bluesy harmonica music introduces Dion Graham’s smooth baritone voice, eloquently returning listeners to the era of Negro League baseball in Kadir Nelson’s award-winning book.

Members of the 2010 Odyssey Award Committee are: Chair Sharon Grover, Hedberg Public Library, Janesville, Wis.; Necia Blundy, Marlborough (Mass.) Public Library; Lee Catalano, Multnomah County Library, Portland, Ore.; Diane Marie Colson, Alachua County Library District, Gainesville, Fla.; Shari Melisa Fesko, Southfield (Mich.) Public Library-David Stewart Memorial Library; Lizette (Liz) Hannegan, Easton, Md.; Chrystal Carr Jeter, Cleveland Public Library; Sarah M. McCarville, Grand Rapids (Mich.) Public Library; Denise Schmidt, San Francisco Public Library; and Booklist consultant Sue-Ellen Beauregard, Chicago.

Back to Odyssey Award homepage