2010 Michael L. Printz Award

2010 Winner

going bovine by libba bray

Going Bovine

by Libba Bray

published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House

In Going Bovine, Cameron, a sixteen-year-old slacker, sets off on a madcap road trip along with a punk angel, a dwarf sidekick, a yard gnome and a mad scientist to save the world and perhaps his own life.

Libba Bray is the author of the Gemma Doyle trilogy. She lives in New York City.

“Wow. Backwards and forwards, this wildly imaginative modern day take on Don Quixote is complex, hilarious, and stunning,” said Printz Award Committee Chair Cheryl Karp Ward. “The hero’s journey will never be the same after ‘Going Bovine.’”

2010 Printz Honor Books

charles and emma the monstrumologist punkzilla tales of the madman underground

The committee also named four Printz Honor Books:

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman, published by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group.

Once Charles Darwin sets his rational mind to marry the religious Emma Wedgeworth, they both must take a leap of faith in order to build a life together.

The Monstrumologist, by Rick Yancey, published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing.

Will Henry, orphan and assistant to a monstrumologist, races against time to save his town (and himself) from the anthropophagi, a pod of monstrous creatures who prey on humans.

Punkzilla, by Adam Rapp, published by Candlewick Press.

Fourteen-year-old runaway Jamie, homeless and strung out, embarks on a harrowing journey to reach his dying brother.

Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973, by John Barnes, published by Viking Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Young Reader’s Group.

Karl Shoemaker wants to begin his senior year with a new identity separate from his counseling group, his alcoholic mother and the legacy of his dead father.

Members of the 2010 Printz Award Committee are: Chair Cheryl Karp Ward, Broad Brook CT Priscille Dando, Robert E. Lee High School, Fairfax County Public Schools, Va.; Sally Leahey, McArthur Public Library, Biddeford, Maine; Angela Leeper, University of Richmond, Va.; Teri Lesesne, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, Texas; H. Jack Martin, New York Public Library; Connie Mitchell, Indianapolis; Ann Theis, Chesterfield (Va.) County Library; Snow Wildsmith, Mooresville, N.C.; John Sexton, administrative assistant, Westchester Library System, Tarrytown, N.Y.; and Gillian Engberg, Booklist consultant, Chicago.

Back to Michael L. Printz Award homepage