1998 Margaret A. Edwards Award Winner

  madeleine l'engle Madeleine L'Engle, author of "A Wrinkle in Time" and other popular books for children and young adults, was named the 1998 recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award, honoring her lifetime contribution in writing for teens.

The award, sponsored by School Library Journal, is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). L'Engle will receive $1,000.

Considered one of the foremost American creators of fantasy and science fiction as well as a perceptive writer of realistic family stories, L'Engle is the author of more than 40 books for young adults and children. "A Wrinkle in Time" won the 1963 Newbery Medal.

"L'Engle tells stories that uniquely blend scientific principles and the quest for higher meaning," said Jeri Baker, chair of the Edwards Award Committee. "Basic to her philosophy of writing is the belief that 'story' helps individuals live courageously and creatively."

L'Engle was cited for the Austin Family Series, which includes "Meet the Austins" and "A Ring of Endless Light"; and the Time Fantasy Series, which includes "A Wrinkle In Time" and "A Swiftly Tilting Planet."

Members of the 1998 Margaret A. Edwards Committee are: Baker, Dallas Public Library; Catherine Clancy, Boston Public Library; Rosemary Moran, Tulsa (Okla.) City County Library; Gail Richmond, Scripps Ranch High School, San Diego; and Helen Tallman, retired,Miami-Dade County (Fla.) Public Schools.

Previous Winners    Nomination Form     Who was Margaret Edwards     Policies and Procedures