The legislators who led the passage of P.L. 103-40, the GPO Access Act

Vice President Al Gore, original sponsor of the GPO Gateway to Government Act when he was in the Senate; Senators Wendell Ford (D-KY) and Ted Stevens (R-AK); Representatives Charlie Rose (D-NC) and Bill Thomas (R-CA)


Awards Won

Title Year
James Madison Award logo James Madison Award

The award named for President James Madison was established in 1989 and is presented annually on the anniversary of his birth to honor individuals or groups who have championed, protected and promoted public access to government information and the public’s right to know at the national level.

View a list of previous recipients here.

1993 - Winner(s)