The Last Mapmaker

“The Last Mapmaker,” written by Christina Soontornvat. Published by Candlewick Press.


A mapmaker’s apprentice, Sai joins a group of explorers on a journey to map unexplored territories. Filled with secrets and double-crossing, this seafaring adventure follows Sai as she charts a new path to her destiny.

Awards Won

Title Year
image of the John Newbery medal John Newbery Medal
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
2023 - Honor(s)