Jennifer S. Kutzik

Jennifer S. Kutzik headshot


The Retired Members Round Table of the American Library Association announces that the winner of the Norman Horrocks-Scarecrow Press Annual Conference Award for 2014 is Jennifer S. Kutzik. Ms. Kutzik retired on June 30, 2011 from Colorado State University Libraries, after a 39 year career as a library and information professional, during which she served as a member of the ALA Membership Committee from 2008-2011, held several offices on the Library Support Staff Interests Round Table Executive Board including serving as the very first LSSIRT Councilor (2007-2010). She is currently serving the profession of librarianship by serving on the ALA-APA Library Support Staff Certification Review Committee and continues her involvement with LSSIRT by serving as Webmaster and Newsletter Co-editor. She continues to be active in the Colorado Association of Libraries.

Ms. Kutzik earned a BA in English Education with a Speech Communication minor from Purdue University in 1972 and did post-graduate course work at Purdue and the University of Denver. She began her library career at Purdue University Libraries, Interlibrary Loan Department in 1972 and was at Colorado State University for 35 years from 1973 till her retirement in 2009 in the Acquisitions, Cataloging, Preparations, Database Maintenance, Library Technology Services Department and the Academic Computing & Networking Services, Computer Applications Training Department.

The Norman Horrocks-Scarecrow Press Annual Conference Award is given in honor of the late Dr. Norman Horrocks who was an active participant in the American Library Association both during his career and in retirement. Over decades he regularly attended ALA’s Annual Conference and generously shared his knowledge with members too numerous to count or name. He exemplified the RMRT spirit summarized in “I retired from my job but not from my profession.” The recipient receives up to $1,000 to attend the American Library Association Annual Conference.

Awards Won

Title Year
horrocks.jpg Norman Horrocks-Scarecrow Press Annual Conference Award

This award was established in 2011 to honor the accomplishments of Dr. Norman Horrocks, who contributed to ALA throughout his life and was a member of the Ad Hoc Committee that worked to establish the RMRT. The travel grant will help retired members of the RMRT to defray the costs of attending an ALA Conference.

2014 - Recipient(s)