Jacqueline Woodson


The 2018 winner is Jacqueline Woodson whose award-winning works include “Brown Girl Dreaming,” which won the 2015 Coretta Scott King Author Award, 2015 Newbery and Sibert Honors, and the 2014 National Book Award; and “Show Way,” recipient of the 2006 Newbery Honor Award. In addition, Woodson has received the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement and the NAACP Image Award.

Awards Won

Title Year
Legacy Award Seal Children's Literature Legacy Award

The Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.

2018 - Winner(s)