First the Egg

By Laura Vaccaro Seeger (Roaring Brook/Neal Porter)



Simple words and paintings create a jewel-like package in a stylish yet unpretentious book, inviting the new reader in again and again. Lush, textured paint combined with die cuts in a trim size just right for deep thinkers, introduces the age-old chicken-and-egg riddle for the youngest reader.

Awards Won

Title Year
Geisel_Gold_Seal.gif Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, established in 2004, is given annually (beginning in 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.
2008 - Honor(s)