Angela Johnson

Photo of Angela Johnson


Angela Johnson is the recipient of the 2018 Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens for Heaven, Looking for Red, The First Part Last, and Sweet, Hereafter published bySimon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing, Bird, published by Puffin Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, and Toning the Sweep, published by Orchard Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc.

Whether exploring teenage pregnancy, the devastating effects of war, complex family dynamics, or the search for selfhood, the young adult novels of Angela Johnson are notable for their depiction of teens in crisis, plumbing the depths of grief and sorrow to find hope and resilience.

“With lyrical and understated prose, exquisitely crafted characters, and universally relevant themes, Angela Johnson creates stories that show teen readers that every dark cloud has a silver lining,” said Edwards Committee Chair Jonathan Hunt.

Awards Won

Title Year
EdwardsSeal.jpg Margaret A. Edwards Award
The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, that have been popular over a period of time. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world.
2018 - Winner(s)