2010 Trustee Citations

robert o. bonam Robert O. Bonam

Robert O. Bonam has served continuously as a Trustee of the Rochester (Mich.) Hills Public Library (RHPL) for 27 years, during which he has also been a member of ALA. He currently serves as the treasurer of the RHPL governing board, a post he has held many times in addition to other leadership roles. Bonam’s greatest involvement has been with the library’s finances. He helped negotiate a creative purchase agreement during the sale of the old library, which saved $75,000. In addition, he negotiated contracts among three cooperating communities to provide a steady revenue stream for RHPL, while at the same time offering quality library service to the residents of all the communities. He has also been involved in the management and structure of library investments, which have earned the library outstanding returns, and the establishment of a library endowment that has grown from $30,000 to $150,000. Bonham owns and operates his own accounting firm, R. Bonam Accounting.

margaret j. (peggy) danhof Margaret J. "Peggy" Danhof

Margaret J. "Peggy" Danhof has served as a Trustee of Fountaindale Public Library (Bolingbrook, Ill.) for a total of 15 years. She was elected president of the board in 2003, and has since helped oversee a space needs analysis and community survey, and plan for a new building. She was part of an effort to successfully pass a $48.6 million referendum to construct a new main library in Bolingbrook and a $5 million renovation of a branch library in Romeoville. A groundbreaking ceremony was held in August 2009, and the anticipated opening date of the new building is estimated for early 2011. Danhof is a member of the Illinois Library Association and its Trustee Forum, and was a board member of the Prairie Area Library System from 2004-2008, serving as treasurer in her second term. Danhof has been an ALA member since 1998, joining the Association for Library Trustees and Advocates (ALTA) Membership Committee in 2004. She has served as acting chairman for ALTA’s Intellectual Freedom Committee, president of ALTA, and co-president of ALTAFF. She is currently immediate past co-president of ALTAFF, serves as ALTAFF’s nomination chairman, and is a member of ALA’s Committee on Advocacy and ALA’s Advocacy Coordinating Committee.