STARS Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL Librarian Award

Back to STARS Awards


OCLC logo



The STARS Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Librarian Award is an annual award consisting of $2,000, sponsored by OCLC, and a citation. It recognizes an individual for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery.

The candidate must have been employed in a library and held some responsibility for their institution’s ILL, document delivery, or resource sharing services at the time the contributions being honored were made. Contributions supporting a nomination must have occurred within two years preceding the nomination deadline. The candidate’s achievement must be demonstrated in at least one of the following areas:

  1. Planning and implementing an innovative or creative approach to ILL/document delivery services that is recognized as a model on a regional or national level.
  2. Notable publication, such as an article, book, or conference paper, which is deemed significant in the literature of the field, and was published in the two years prior to the candidate’s nomination.

  3. A record of sustained, recognized, and exceptional participation in regional, national, or international associations that address the interests of librarians and library staff involved in ILL/document delivery.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.



To nominate a librarian, complete the STARS Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL Librarian Award sponsored by OCLC nomination form. Self-nominations are permitted. Previous nominees who were not selected in previous years are welcome to reapply if they still meet the requirements.



Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials:

  1. Nomination letter, describing the ways in which the nominee has made a significant contribution to Interlibrary Loan. The Letter should address some or all of the following: publications, leadership, measurable effectiveness of programs, influence on others, and creative and innovative concepts.

  2. Resume or Curriculum Vitae (CV) detailing the candidate’s career, achievements and contribution to the field.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair.



Award Recipients

2023: Jalesia Horton, Southern Methodist University

2022: Miriam Wnuk, Vanderbilt University

2021: Melissa Eighmy Brown, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

2020: Brian Miller, The Ohio State University

2019: Zack Lane, Columbia University

2018: Kurt Munson, Northwestern University 

2017: Seangill ‘Peter’ Bae, Princeton University

2016: Tina Baich, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis

2015: Lars Leon, University of Kansas

2014: David Larsen, University of Chicago

2013: Collette G. Mak, University of Notre Dame

2012: Cyril Oberlander, SUNY Geneseo