STARS Publication Recognition Award

Back to STARS Awards


Established in 2018, The annual RUSA STARS Publication Recognition Award is an annual award consisting of a citation presented to librarians or library staff to highlight and encourage excellence in publication in STARS (Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section) areas, including interlibrary loan, document delivery, remote circulation, access services, cooperative reference, cooperative collection-development, remote storage and other shared library services.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.



  • Work shows evidence of rigorous and thoughtful inquiry into the topic
  • Practical value
  • Theoretical value
  • Contribution to scholarship
  • Relevance of coverage, timeliness, and benefit to the profession
  • Quality of writing
  • Presentation of style
  • Methodology for carrying out proposed work
  • Adequate data and documentation to support statements.



To nominate a librarian, complete the STARS Publication Recognition Award nomination form. Self-nominations are permitted.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Megan Gaffney at


Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials with the nomination form:

  • A copy of the nominated material or excerpts of the nominated materials as requested by
    the Committee – to be supplied in PDF format
  • Current CV for the nominee(s)
  • Statement explaining the:
    • Practical and theoretical value of the publication
    • Relevance to the profession and timeliness of coverage
    • Methodology used, if relevant


Award Recipients

2023: Mia Partlow, Robin C. Davis, Dawn Pearce, and Silvia Sheffield of North Carolina State University

2022: Jessica Bower Relevo, Resource Sharing and Reserves Librarian, and Sarah Tudesco, Program Director, Assessment & UX Research, both at Yale University Library

2021: Sylvie Larsen and Kaitlin Kehnemuyi

2020: Hilary Thompson, Director, User Services & Resource Sharing at University of Maryland Libraries, Austin Smith, Lisa Gardinier at University of Iowa Libraries, and Manuel Ostos at Penn State University Libraries.

2019: J. Silvia Cho, Interlibrary Loan Supervisor at Mina Rees Library, The Graduate Center, CUNY and LeEtta M. Schmidt, Copyright and Intellectual Property Librarian, University of South Florida Libraries