STARS Mentoring Award

Back to STARS Awards

Sponsored by Atlas Systems, Inc., this award offers a gift of $1,250 to fund travel expenses associated with attending ALA’s annual conference. The recipient will be a library practitioner who is new to the field of interlibrary loan/document delivery or electronic reserves, and who has daily, hands-on involvement in the areas of borrowing, lending, document delivery, electronic reserves, material delivery, or resource sharing.

This award is intended for a person who has been in the profession for less than two years, or an individual who is newly employed in interlibrary loan, resource sharing or electronic reserves position and has little or no experience in that area. M.L.S. or ALA membership is not required for this award. Preference will be given to those with greatest demonstrated need for the purposes of professional development, networking, education, and service to their local community. The STARS Education and Training Committee will assign a mentor to the recipient for the conference to help them navigate through the conference experience. The recipient is expected to participate in STARS events throughout the conference.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.



To nominate a librarian, complete the STARS Mentoring Award nomination form. Self-nominations are permitted.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair.


Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials with the nomination form:

  1. Proof of entry into this field for the first time, in the form of written confirmation from the human resources office or the library director.
  2. An updated resume that can be verified by Committee members.
  3. A brief description of your position, department, and library.
  4. A statement of petition, in essay format (no more than three pages) which answers the following questions:
    • Why are you interested in attending ALA Annual?
    • What benefits would you like to see in mentoring at ALA Annual?
    • How might your attendance benefit service at your local institution?
    • What, in particular, interests you in interlibrary loan, resource sharing or electronic reserves?


Award Recipients

2023: Tokunbo Adeshina, Access Services Librarian, Bronx Community College of the City University of New York

2022: Jose F. Rodriguez, Head of Access Services/Librarian Assistant Professor, University of Miami

2021:  Carla Lasky, Library Assistant II / Interlibrary Loan Coordinator, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science; Jacob E. Lotter, Access Services Assistant, Wheaton College, MA

2020: No Awardee for 2020

2019: Kim Ammons, Access Services Evening Associate, Mount Holyoke College Library, South Hadley, MA and Michelle Taylor, Interlibrary Loan Borrowing Specialist, Virginia Commonwealth University

2018: Guerda Baucicaut, InterLibrary Loan & Reserves Specialist at Borough of Manhattan Community College 

2017: Elizabeth Hussey , Public Services Librarian at Roberts Wesleyan College (NY) and Eleana Cordova, Adult Reference & Interlibrary Loan Librarian at Wayne Public Library (NJ)

2016: Kimberly Steiner, Messiah College (Pa.)

2015: Karen Thomas, Delaware Valley College

2014: Jacob Kubrin, Holy Names University

2013: Daniel Chesney, Southern Nazarene University (Okla.).

2012: Natalie D. Beam

2011: Micquel Little

2010: Cherié Weible, Head of Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2009: Barbara Coopey

2008: Suzanne Ward

2007: Anne K. Beaubien

2006: Arlene Cohen

2005: Harry M. Kriz

2004: Joan Stein

2003: Mary A. Hollerich

2002: Tom Delaney

2001: Lynn Wiley

2000: Joanne Halgren