CODES committees administer the following awards:

Sophie Brody Medal

An award to the U.S. author of the most distinguished contribution to Jewish literature (fiction and/or non-fiction) for adults.

Dartmouth Medal

A medal that honors the creation of a reference work of outstanding quality and significance.

Zora Neale Hurston Award

An award given to an individual RUSA member who has demonstrated leadership in promoting African American literature.

Louis Shores

Greenwood Publishing Group Award A citation and $3,000 cash award to an individual reviewer, group, editor, review medium or organization to recognize excellence in book reviewing and other media for libraries. The award recipient is selected for significant achievement related to a reviewing process that helps librarians make selection decisions.

CODES Committees compile the following annual lists:

  1. Notable Books for Adults
  2. Outstanding Reference Sources
  3. The Reading List