RUSA Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award

Back to RUSA Division Level Awards


Established in 1985, the RUSA Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award is $1,250* and a citation presented to a librarian who has made significant contributions to library adult services. The individual may be a practicing librarian, a library and information science researcher or educator, or a retired librarian who has brought distinction to the profession's understanding and practice or services for adults. Sponsored by NoveList.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.


  1. Neither nominators nor nominees need to be members of ALA or RUSA. 
  2. Anyone can be a nominator or a nominee regardless of nationality. 
  3. Self-nominations are permitted.
  4. The President of RUSA is not eligible for the award during their term in office.

Evaluation Criteria

The award jury is composed of members of RUSA’s Achievement Awards and Grants Committee. The criteria for "significant contributions" will be judged by such factors as publications, leadership, measurable effectiveness of programs, influence on others, and creative and innovative concepts.

How to Submit a Nomination

Complete the Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award nomination form by February 23, 2024. The form asks for the following information: 

  1. Nominator’s email address
  2. Nominator’s first and last name
  3. Nominee’s first and last name
  4. Nominee’s mailing address
  5. Nominee’s phone number
  6. Nominee’s email address
  7. Nominee’s current position
  8. Nominee’s memberships (ALA, RUSA, BRASS, CODES, ETS, HS, RSS, STARS, non-member)
  9. File upload of a nomination letter, describing the ways in which the nominee has made a significant contribution to library adult services. The letter should address some or all of the following: publications, leadership, measurable effectiveness of programs, influence on others, and creative and innovative concepts.
  10. File upload of the resume of the nominee and/or summary of the nominee’s activities and contributions.
  11. File uploads of a minimum of two letters of endorsement containing specific reasons for supporting the nomination.
  12. File uploads of any other supporting materials that illustrate the nominee’s significant contribution.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair, Allan Kleiman,


Award Recipients

2023: No award presented

2022: Timothy J. Dickey, Adult Services Librarian, Columbus Metropolitan Library (Interview)

2021: Kelvin Watson, Executive Director Las Vegas-Clark County Library District

2020: Lucy M. Lockley, Lead Collection Development Librarian for St. Charles City-County Library

2019: Nicolette Warisse Sosulski, Business Librarian at Portage District Library

2018: Kaite Stover, Director of Readers’ Services, Kansas City Public Library

2017: David Wright, Readers’ Services Librarian, Seattle Public Library

2016: Dr. Mary K. Chelton, retired professor, Graduate School of Library and Information Studies, Queen’s College, CUNY

2015: Neil Hollands, adult services librarian, Williamsburg Regional Library

2014: Diana Tixier Herald, Delta County Libraries (Colo.)

2013: Dr. Catherine Sheldrick Ross, University of Western Ontario

2012: Neal Wyatt

2011: Joyce Saricks, Dominican University

2010: Nancy Pearl

2009: No award given


2007: Barry Trott

2006: Allan Kleiman

2005: Gary Warren Niebuhr

2004: Cynthia Orr

2003: Miriam Pollack

2002: Marsha Spyros

2001: No award given

2000: Lizbeth A. Wilson

1999: Ann Bradshaw

1998: Jane P. Kleiner

1997: Duncan Smith

1996: Connie VanFleet

1995: Valerie J. Wilford

1994: Elizabeth Ann Funk

1993: Kathleen Weibel

1992: Rhea Joyce Rubin

1991: Kathleen M. McCook (Heim)

1990: Martin J. Gomez

1989: Bernice Mac Donald

1988: Jane K. Hirsch

1987: Lora Landers

1986: Helen Huguenor Lyman