RUSA Federal Rising Stars Award

Back to RUSA Division Level Awards


Federal Rising Stars Award, begun by FAFLRT, is being administered by RUSA, since the dissolution of ASGCLA (which had merged with FAFLRT). The award highlights the achievements of those new to the profession. Rising Stars are those people who display a passion for the profession, both at work and via volunteer or association activities. Those nominated will have worked or volunteered in a federal or armed forces library or government information setting and have graduated with an MLS/MLIS/MSLIS (equivalent) program five years ago or less.


To nominate a librarian, complete the nomination form. (Google Form).

If you do not have a Google account or unable to use the Google form, please fill out the PDF nomination form. Send the completed nomination form along with the submission materials to the RUSA Office

Submission Materials

  • Nomination letter or statement, describing the ways in which the nominee fulfills the criteria and purpose of the award.
  • The nomination letter/statement may either include a resume of the nominee listing their activities and contributions and/or summary of the nominee’s activities and contributions.
  • A 2nd letter or statement of endorsement containing specific reasons for supporting the nomination. (Not Required)
  • Provide any other appropriate documentation supporting the candidate (optional).
  • Nominators should discuss nomination with potential candidate before and during creation of submission materials, as RUSA has a promotional event for awardees.


Rising Star candidates must:

  • Be a RUSA member in good standing or a former ASGCLA member in good standing.
  • Work or volunteer in a federal or armed forces library or government information management setting.
  • Have graduated from an MLS/MLIS/MSLIS (equivalent) program five years ago or less.
  • Been a professional librarian or information manager for five years or less.
  • Display a passion for the library and information science profession within work and/or volunteer or association activities.
  • Self-nominations are accepted and welcome.
  • Strength of endorsement or letters of support.

Award Recipients

  • 2021 Mariah Antoinette Lovick
  • 2020 No award presented
  • 2019 No award presented
  • 2017 Heather Kiger, Yosemite Research Library, National Park Service
  • 2016 [None selected]
  • 2015 [None selected]
  • 2014 Katie Rapp, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • 2013 [None selected]
  • 2012 Caralyn Champa, U.S. Army, Army Knowledge Leaders Program
  • 2011 Aimee Babcock-Ellis, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration Library