HS Genealogy / History Achievement Award

Back to HS Awards



Established in 1992, the HS Genealogy / History Achievement Award, sponsored by FamilySearch, presents a citation and $1,500* to an individual, group, publisher or institution, in recognition of professional achievement in historical or genealogical reference, service, or research librarianship. The recipient shall be selected for exceptional accomplishment in one or more of the following areas: leadership; service; training; reference; or publication of recent, significant print or digital reference works/projects that offer access to genealogical or historical sources. Preference shall be given to members of RUSA.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.



To nominate a deserving member, complete the HS Genealogy / History Achievement Award nomination form.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair.


Submission Guidelines

Nomination materials should include the following:

  1. A completed copy of the nomination form
  2. Complete contact information for both the nominee and the nominator
  3. Previous work experience (titles and employers)
  4. An outline of service to ALA, RUSA and the History Section
  5. Service to allied organizations
  6. Awards received (if any)
  7. Publication credits
  8. A narrative outlining why the nominee deserves the award; must go beyond a listing of the nominee’s credentials
  9. Any other information relevant to the nominee’s qualifications for this award

Questions may be directed to the committee chair.


Award Recipients

2023: Michelle Enke, Manager of Genealogy / Special Collections, Wichita Public Library

2022: Marie Concannon, Head, Government Information & Data Archives, University of Missouri Library

2021: DeeDee Baldwin, Assistant Professor, History Research Librarian Mississippi State University Libraries

2020: Jennifer Brannock, Curator of Rare Books & Mississippiana, The University of Southern Mississippi

2019: Mary Lovell Swetnam, Special Collections Librarian, Virginia Beach Public Library

2018: Dr. Plummer Alston Jones, Jr., Professor of Library Science, East Carolina University in Greenville, NC 

2017: Richard E. Turley Jr., former Assistant Church Historian and Recorder of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

2016: Michele C. McNabb, Genealogy Center, Museum of Danish America

2015: Michael D. Kirley, Los Angeles Public Library

2014: William “Bill” Forsyth, Proquest

2013: Janice Schultz, Midwest Genealogy Center, Mid-Continent Public Library (Mo.)

2012: Jay L. Verkler

2011: Mary K. Mannix, Frederick County Public Libraries, Frederick Maryland