Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction


The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, first awarded in June 2012, are awarded to the author of the best book for adult readers in two categories-fiction and nonfiction. Two additional authors shortlisted in each of the categories will be named finalists. The winning authors and finalists will receive cash prizes ($5,000 and $1,500 each respectively). The award is co-sponsored by Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) and Booklist. For more information about the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, please visit the website here:


Bill Ladewski
(RUSA Executive Director, June 30, 2018, to December 31, 2099)
Shuntai Sykes
(Staff Liaison, June 30, 2018, to December 31, 2099)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2024. Last retrieved on 07/12/2024. Refresh now.


See RUSA or Section Bylaws.


See Committee Charge.

Staff Liaison

Ninah Moore

Training and Events Coordinator

Get Involved

ALA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on RUSA and section committees. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out an application form. Appointments take place between Midwinter and Annual conferences. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1, with the exception of the award committees whose work takes place from February to January.