History: History Research and Innovation Award Committee


The Committee administers an annual award of $2,500. The award is granted to an MLS degreed librarian from an ALA accredited school to facilitate and further research relating to history and history librarianship. An emphasis in an area reflected by the History Section’s subject-oriented committees, not excluding American history, is required. Those committees are: Genealogy, Local History, Instruction and Research Services, and Historical Materials. This award is on hiatus beginning in 2023.


Ms. Angela K. O'Neal
(Chair, July 1, 2023, to July 31, 2024)
Ms. Jennifer Brannock
(Member, July 1, 2023, to July 31, 2024)
Dr. Scott Libson
(Member, July 1, 2023, to July 31, 2024)
Bill Ladewski
(RUSA Executive Director, October 1, 2018, to December 31, 2099)
Ninah Moore
(Staff Liaison, October 1, 2018, to December 31, 2099)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2024. Last retrieved on 07/24/2024. Refresh now.

Staff Liaison

Ninah Moore

Training and Events Coordinator


Get Involved

ALA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on the committee. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out an application form. Appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1.