History Section Research and Innovation Award


The Committee administers an annual award of $2,500. The award is granted to an MLS degreed librarian from an ALA accredited school to facilitate and further research relating to history and history librarianship. An emphasis in an area reflected by the History Section’s subject-oriented committees, not excluding American history, is required. Those committees are: Genealogy, Local History, Instruction and Research Services, and Historical Materials.


Melissa F. Gonzalez (Chair, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022)
Brooke A. Becker (Member, July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2024)
Rebecca Ann Lloyd (Member, July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2023)
Ms. Nicole E. Wood (Member, July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2022)
Bill Ladewski (RUSA Executive Director, October 1, 2018, to December 31, 2099)
Ninah Moore (Staff Liaison, October 1, 2018, to December 31, 2099)
Shuntai Sykes (Staff Liaison, October 1, 2018, to October 13, 2022)
Melissa Vanyek (Staff Liaison, October 1, 2018, to October 13, 2022)

Displaying active committee roster as of 07/01/2021. Last retrieved on 09/29/2023. Members can log in and refresh the page to view full contact information for committee members.

Get Involved

ALA values committed and active committee members. Qualified members are welcome to volunteer to serve on the committee. Committee members must have an interest in the work of the committee; be able to attend Annual Conferences and Midwinter Meetings to participate in the meetings and activities of the committee; and be able to work between conferences via e-mail and ALA Connect. Express your interest in serving on this or other committees by filling out an application form. Appointments take place once a year, during the spring. Committee service usually begins following Annual Conference, about July 1.

Staff Liaison

Ninah Moore

Training and Events Coordinator