CODES Report

At the Midwinter Meeting in Denver, CODES members were excited to participate in the first RUSA Awards Reception for books and media. This event morphed out of the annual CODES reception that has taken place since 2004 and has become a chance to celebrate both the award winners and the CODES/RUSA members who dedicate so much time to these committees. The work of these committees is tremendously time-consuming, but incredibly rewarding.

CODES now has seven awards, with the Zora Neale Hurston Award being presented for the first time to Miriam Rodriguez of the Dallas Public Library. The other awards – Dartmouth Medal, Louis Shores/Greenwood Publishing Group, Notable Books, Reading List, Reference Sources, and Sophie Brody – are also determined at Midwinter, which culminates a year of reading and deliberating by the committee members.

The complete list of winners for all of the awards can be found here:

At the Executive Committee meeting in Denver, CODES joined the rest of ALA in discussing ways of making it easier to participate virtually in the work of the organization. We agreed that several CODES committees could do their work without meeting in person. The Communications and Louis Shores Committees will pilot this approach this year and all of the committees will consider ways of making it easier for members who can’t afford to travel to participate fully in the work of the section.

If you are interested in joining any of the CODES committees please contact Vice Chair/Chair Elect Danise Hoover ( or fill out the volunteer form here:

Michael Levine-Clark, CODES Chair