BRASS Student Travel Award

Back to BRASS Awards




Established in 1992, this $1,250 monetary prize is given to a student enrolled in an ALA accredited master’s degree program to fund travel to and attendance at the ALA Annual Conference and a one-year membership in the Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of RUSA. This award is sponsored by SimplyAnalytics.



Applicants should have demonstrated interest in a career as a business reference librarian, and a potential to be a leader in the profession as demonstrated by activities that may include (but are not limited to) coursework, internships, jobs, special projects, and publications.

In addition to attending the conference, the winner is required to participate in BRASS activities at ALA conference and to write a brief statement about conference experiences for RUSA Update . The winner may not accept a concurrent ALA-sponsored travel award.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.



Applicants must complete the nomination form, and follow the submission instructions therein.

Nominations will be accepted through Februray 23, 2024.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair.


Submission Guidelines

Complete the Student Travel Award nomination form.

Submit the following materials:

  1. Personal statement (1-2 pages) summarizing your academic and professional achievements, your interest in this award, and reasons for choosing business librarianship as a profession
  2. A copy of your current resume
  3. A copy of your library school transcript
  4. Two letters of reference


Award Recipients

2023: Mansi Nishit Trivedi

2022: Jennifer Nelson, Reference/Marketing Librarian – Neuse Regional Libraries, Kinston, NC

2021: Rashida C. Scott, Library Assistant – Maricopa County Library District, Fountain Hills, AZ

2020: Daphnie Neal, Student, Public Service Assistant II at Akron-Summit County Public Library

2019: Zoeanna Mayhook, MLIS student at the University of Washington

2018: Rachel Holder, MLS candidate, Indiana University 

2017: Ian Richardson, student at Wayne State University

2016: Katherine Glasoe, student at the School of Library and Information Science, Simmons College

2015: Sara F. Hess, University of Michigan School of Information

2014: Katharine Macy, University of Washington

2013: Kelly LaVoice, Rutgers University

2012: Ilana Barnes

2011: Danielle Salomon, Intern, Crocker Business Library, University of Southern California

2010: Nancy Origer Poole, Graduate Student, Library and Information Studies, UNC Greensboro

2009: Frans Jozef Velasco Albarillo, University of Hawai’i, Manoa LIS program

2008: Daniel Hickey

2007: Anthony B. Lin

2006: Beth Dunning

2005: Jared Howland

2004: Naaznin Adatia

2003: David W. Guilliams

2002: Christy A. Donaldson

2001: Susan Alice Shultz

2000: Paul Brothers

1999: Christina Mehta Prendiville

1998: Lucrea Vinluan Dayrit

1997: Heidi E. K. Senior

1996: Deborah Lynn Harrington

1995: Tracy Turnbull

1994: Lisa J. McClain

1993: Lora Fitzgerald